The Official Ball of the CAN

The Comoequa takes its name from the river Como, whose waters cross the two host countries: Gabon and Equatorial Guinea. Its technology is the same that has been used to manufacture the Tango 12, the ball designed for the 2012 Eurocup and its predominant color is yellow, with details in the colors of the flags of the host countries.

Nigeria Must Win Next Two Matches to Qualify for Africa Cup

Former Nigeria captain Austin ‘Jay Jay’ Okocha has been called “probably the greatest player since Pele.” Okocha believes the Nigeria Super Eagles can still qualify for the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations to be held in Equatorial Guinea & Gabon. Qualifying rounds continue as the Super Eagles trail Guinea by 3 points after four matches. The Super Eagles must win the next two games against Madagascar and then Guinea in order to qualify for the Africa Cup. The Super Eagles will play Madagascar on September 4th in Mahamasina stadium in Antananarivo and will go on to play Guinea October 6th and 9th. Guinea who is ahead in points could still qualify by beating Ethiopia and Nigeria without beating Madagascar or if they draw against Ethiopia and Nigeria looses to Madagascar. A win for both Nigeria and Guinea means that they will have to compete for the top spot during their match in October.

Equatorial Guinea and Gabon to Host 2012 Africa Cup of Nations

Equatorial Guinea and Gabon will be hosting the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations which will be the 28th edition of the Africa Cup of Nations. The two countries defeated bids from two previous winners, Angola and Libya as well as a Nigerian bid.  As Equatorial Guinea and Gabon are the hosts, they will automatically be qualified to the tournament. They join Botswana and Côte d’Ivoire who have also already qualified as winners of their respective groups.  The opening match, one semi-final and the third place match will be held in Equatorial Guinea while the other semi-final and the final will be held in Gabon. The two stadiums that will be used in Equatorial Guinea are Estadio de Bata and the Nuevo Estadio de Malabo.  The draw for the finals will take place on the 29th October, 2011.