The Official Ball of the CAN

The Comoequa takes its name from the river Como, whose waters cross the two host countries: Gabon and Equatorial Guinea. Its technology is the same that has been used to manufacture the Tango 12, the ball designed for the 2012 Eurocup and its predominant color is yellow, with details in the colors of the flags of the host countries.

Harambee Stars could face Guinea Bissau

The national soccer team Harambee stars could face Guinea Bissau yet again in the first round of the 2014 world cup qualifiers matches after the pots for Saturday’s draw in Brazil were revealed. The stars are among 12 teams placed in pot five but Guinea Bissau is in Pot six together with Equatorial Guinea. The 12 countries in Pot 5 will be drawn against the 12 from Pot 6, who will play at home first.

Equatorial Guinea to take on Guinea-Bissau

Nzalang Nacional (Equatorial Guinea) will be playing Guinea-Bissau on August 10th, 2011 in Portugal. It is a highly anticipated match and the coach of the Nzalang Nacional will be hoping that this match will aid him in making squad selections and will be hoping to get the best out the players he has chosen. This is in anticipation of the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations which Equatorial Guinea has already qualified for as they are co-hosting the event. Guinea-Bissau have both won and lost one game this year with a hat-trick by Cicero aiding them fend off Gambia but then more recently losing to Uganda 1-0 at home. The Nzaland Nacional have been very busy this year ranking up 7 matches this year already with 4 wins, 1 draw and 2 losses. They have defeated the likes of Chad, Gambia, RSC Montreuil and Brittany.

Equatorial Guinea and Gabon to Host 2012 Africa Cup of Nations

Equatorial Guinea and Gabon will be hosting the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations which will be the 28th edition of the Africa Cup of Nations. The two countries defeated bids from two previous winners, Angola and Libya as well as a Nigerian bid.  As Equatorial Guinea and Gabon are the hosts, they will automatically be qualified to the tournament. They join Botswana and Côte d’Ivoire who have also already qualified as winners of their respective groups.  The opening match, one semi-final and the third place match will be held in Equatorial Guinea while the other semi-final and the final will be held in Gabon. The two stadiums that will be used in Equatorial Guinea are Estadio de Bata and the Nuevo Estadio de Malabo.  The draw for the finals will take place on the 29th October, 2011.